kick-ass muffins

I absolutely can NOT have a blog, even if it’s supposed to be mainly fiber-related, and not talk about FOOD. I’m italian, with the metabolism of a hummingbird, a nursing mama, and have at turns been healthfully and un-healthfully obsessed with yummy nibbly things. I would consider myself to be in a state of healthy obsession at this point, and I’m in a very experimental phase. Last week it was adzuki and mung beans, and yesterday it was this:

Spicy Cocoa Molasses Muffins with Cayenne and Love
1/4 cup melted butter (or oil)
1/4 cup cocoa powder
3/4 cup applesauce
1 3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup rapadura (or regular sugar)
3/4 tsp. baking soda
1 1/2 tsp. (or more) cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
dash of: cayenne (a little goes a long way), cloves, allspice
1/4 tsp. salt
1 banana, mashed (or one egg, beaten)
2 healthy dollops of blackstrap molasses

Stir together the butter or oil, cocoa powder and applesauce.
Mix together dry ingredients (flour through salt) and blend with a whisk. Add butter/oil mixture, mashed banana or egg, and molasses. Stir just until blended. Spoon into greased muffin tin (or use paper muffin cups) and bake at 350 degrees for twenty-ish minutes. Don’t overbake! Cool on wire rack. Makes 12 regular-size muffins.

As you can see, this recipe can be vegan or not. I always use a mashed banana instead of egg when baking these days, because it adds delightful texture and allows me to cut out some of the sugar and still satisfy the sweet tooth (you should try cornbread this way!). Anyway, the muffins are dark, earthy-spicy, rich and cake-y. The cayenne lingers on your tongue long after the muffin has passed on from the mouth to the next stage of digestion. next time, I think I’ll put it in a cake pan and see how it bakes up that way. layer cake with chocolate-cinnamon cream cheese frosting, maybe? Hey, it’s the little guy’s birthday in a couple of weeks, and there’s no better excuse to bake! (except for maybe just because)

Anyway, I made it up, so try it and let me know what you think. It’s giving me thoughts like, “ooo, what about a recipes-for-knitting cookbook??” I did, in fact, enjoy my muffins whilst spinning up some hemp and recycled silk for a special summer project.

Weather bulletin: 40 degrees! I’m only wearing two layers today, not four or five!

Leave a Reply

