and now for something completely different…

I would like you all to meet…my turken:


I love her. She is so punk rock.

And no, she is not related to a turkey…she is all chicken, oh yes. She just happens to look like a turkey-vulture.

Am I the only one who gets excited when the McMurray Hatchery catalog comes? Anyway, I’m not sure she’s the one who started laying, but one of our girls has begun to leave egg-presents each day! well, egg-present, singular. They are such healthy birds…the eggs come out sparkly clean, the shells are strong and the yolks are superb. They eat organic feed and all of our kitchen food scraps. They love squash skins and coffee grounds. I could watch them all day. Really, all day. They don’t do much, but for some reason, they are just so interesting.

Maybe next time I’ll show you a picture of our turken’s sister…the other turken. Heh. We are so creative, I think this one’s name is Turk-Turk and the other is just…Turken. Look, when there’s twenty birds birding around your coop, it takes a while to pick out each goofy personality and assign them names they don’t care about. They feel the love and that’s all that matters.

This is what happens when I don’t have any yarn photos.
Happy weekend, everyone!

Leave a Reply

