This is how I rest…

I get into the kitchen. I just can’t help myself.

Yesterday’s adventures involved homemade granola:

I ended up baking three pans full…about a gallon and a half! One of our local farmer’s market vendors, Bingo Granola, sells their sprouted organic oats. They are AMAZING. I love their granola, too, but even more than that, I love making my own. I used goji berries this time, and they are delicious. No joke.

Here be the recipe:

I used just shy of 3 lbs. of the sprouted oats…regular rolled oats would be a-okay!
1 cup goji berries
1 cup raisins
1 cup pumpkin seeds
1 cup sunflower seeds
1 cup sesame seeds
1 cup shredded coconut

Stir these together.

Then, melt together:

1 1/2 sticks of butter
1/2 – 3/4 cup honey
2 tsp. vanilla extract

Add to the dry along with 1 or 2 tsp salt (to taste…I like more…brings out the sweetness)

Bake at…350 I guess (I used a wood cookstove, so I have no idea what the temp was) and stir lots until it gets every so slightly toasty and lightly browned.

And some homemade yogurt to go with it:

TASTY!
(and nice on my healing belly)

I also made pecan/walnut/pumpkin seed/sunflower seed butter with coconut oil and honey (and of course, lots of salt).
Will devour it on the last of our local apples.

Today, I am also "resting" by doing a bit of felting and washing yarns. It feels so good to be productive. What I’m really supposed to be doing is making a follow-up appointment with the Surgeon Who Didn’t Cut Me, but I know he just wants to schedule another one of those awful tests that I dealt with the negative effects of for three days afterward. NO THANK YOU. I’ll just eat yogurt instead.

Leave a Reply

