Making and Baking

C was home today…

So there was a lot of this:

And a little of this:

I came upon this recipe when I was looking for something else, of course, and whipped it up with the following adaptations: coconut amazake, cherries instead of peaches, flax instead of chia seeds. Test kitchen ratings are as follows:

Me: 3 out of 5 stars (gritty, crumbly, unremarkable flavor) eta: The texture was very much improved after sitting out until afternoon tea…no more crumbling…am going to try again without substituting flax…yes, I am obsessed with finding the perfect G-F baked good texture.

C: 4 out of 5 stars

Little Guy: 8 a million out of 5 stars (he really liked them)

Later in the day, however, they were much tastier and less gritty-feeling in texture. So, I guess I kinda sorta recommend them, but not fresh out of the oven. Oh, and if I ever make these again, I’m adding xanthan gum.

Tomorrow, I bake the cake for the LG’s birthday (Friday)…we are gluten and dairy free right now, as you may know, and he has requested a heart-shaped ICE CREAM CAKE. So, since the little bugger is going to be FIVE and he’ll only get to become FIVE once, I am attempting a gluten-free dairy-free version of a freaking ice cream cake. Like he’s ever had one before. For crying out loud, I was just thumbing through a Julia Child cookbook one day and he happened to see the page with the ice cream cake recipe. Moments before that, we had agreed on a simple carrot cake. Sigh. Anyway, I’m using this coconut cake recipe (sans frosting), cutting it into three layers (she says hopefully) and filling/icing it with Coconut Bliss ice cream (chocolate and coconut) with copious amounts of toasted coconut on top. Theoretically, it should be killer, and convincingly like a ‘real’ ice cream cake.

And since this has become a food post, I will finally provide the pizza crust recipe that seems to be working for us…it is a heavily modified version of one I found on the Bob’s Red Mill site…I won’t even link to the original recipe because it doesn’t resemble it in the least.

So…

I have my favorite G-F flour mix that I make myself (including brown rice flour, white rice flour, potato and tapioca starches)…use whatever works for you.

Combine 1 1/2 cups G-F flour mix, 1/2 cup cornmeal, 1/2 cup ground flaxseed, 2 tsp. xanthan gum (scratch that if it’s in your mix already) 1 tbsp. baking powder, 1 tsp sea salt, 4 (or 8, if you’re me) minced garlic cloves, some oregano and basil. Add 4 tbsp. chilled butter (or vegan shortening or lard…whatever works for you) and work it in with your fingers like you’re making biscuit dough. Add about 1 cup water (or goat’s milk, if you’re me) and mix with a fork…you’ll have to use wet fingers to spread the dough onto the cookie sheet or baking stone or whathaveyou…the dough is sticky. I pre-bake at 450 degrees for 10 or 15 minutes before topping it and putting it back in the oven.

Next up…something ridiculously cute. But now…to bed.

4 thoughts on “Making and Baking

  1. I’m sorry you weren’t a fan of the scones…your description doesn’t sound like how mine turn out, either fresh from the oven or hours later. I’m wondering if it’s the flax seeds? Thanks for trying them, though!

    • Hi! It very well could be the flax substitution…I just edited my post to add that I’ll be trying these again with the chia to see if that makes a difference with the texture. I’m such a scone snob, and I really like the idea of amazake as part of the recipe! I’d love to try it with some homemade amazake, too…I realize that could also make a difference. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. I had no idea that you are so in to cooking too! My you do have a lot of talents. 5 years old…Wahoo! That coconut bliss seems like it would be scrumptious.

Leave a Reply

