Falling and Lifting

Finally, we resigned ourselves to playing with ice. Even freezing temperatures have not been a constant and I failed to find joy in the seasonal confusion. I allowed it to drag me down to some dark places since this dreary winter began.

And then, in a Leap Day miracle, it fell…the thick, white blanket of winter.

I rolled around in it.

The chickens conversed about it.

I felt warm all the way through.

It seemed I was shirking my work, but even with hours of play and breaks for hot molasses milk, I was more productive in the studio than I have been in quite some time.

During the Icy Times, I was horribly unmotivated…I didn’t even tell you that I have all but abandoned my Etsy shop in favor of a new venue: The Spun Monkey on big cartel! There are still several small kinks to work out, but so far I find this to be a much happier home. I am slowly adding product and will be adding several new shop sections in the coming weeks. You will find a link there to sign up for the Newsletter, which comes to your inbox once/month with announcements and subscriber-only coupons. I’m looking forward to the unveiling of two new lines of repeatable colorways on yarn and fiber, and…the print shop. Stay tuned.

7 thoughts on “Falling and Lifting

  1. Love your new site for your goods. It looks fabulous. Also, what a neat idea to do with ice. Glad you’re feeling better. You might be sun-deprived and need one of those special lamps to avoid SAD times. Just a thought because I have a friend in AK who got one and couldn’t believe the energy she had after sitting under the lamp’s special rays.

  2. I love this post! We got hardly any snow at all here. I’m a little afraid for the consequences of this winter…

  3. congrats again on the new big cartel shop! I was with you this winter, feeling stuck in some kind of seasonal purgatory. I much prefer to revel in the full potential of each season than to vacillate between a mush of three seasons at once.
    Anyway, your ice is gorgeous!
    You comin’ to boston any time soon? I’ll be sure and let you know if we end up in your neck of the woods again this summer.

Leave a Reply

